Mayors of Lismore

In 1879 Lismore was incorporated as a municipality with James Stocks (pictured), a chemist, elected as first Mayor and William James Harman appointed as Town Clerk. Council set about developing the basic infrastructure needed to support its growing population, including drainage and the provision of kerosene lamps on street posts.
The walls of the Lismore City Council Chambers corridors are filled with portraits showcasing many of Lismore's Mayors.
Lismore's current Mayor is Cr Steve Krieg. 


Years Name
1879-81 Ald James Stocks
1882-83 Aid E W Allingham
1883-85 and 1892-93 Aid Jas Barrie
1886-87 and 1894 Ald L Bemsteim
1888 Ald A J Simpson
1888 Ald R S Wotherspoon
1889-91 and 1896-99 Ald J F O'Flynn
1895-1901 Ald J W Coleman
1902-03 Ald W Lockett
1904 Ald R S K Balmer
1905 and 1916-22 Ald C McKenzie
1906 Ald Hon G Nesbitt, MLC
1907 Ald J Quilty
1908-10 and 1912-13 Ald R J Spinks
1911 Ald J B Carlton
1914-15 Ald R White
1923-25 Ald R Brewster
1926 Ald R Kellas
1927-29 Ald C McKenzie
1930-31 Ald D C McARoss
1932 Ald E J Eggins
1933 Ald W Frith
1933-37 Ald S J Hosie
1938 Ald R Kellas
1939-40 Ald W F Oakes
1941-42 Ald R R Gordon
1943-46 Ald C A H Dalziell
1947-48 Ald W G Walker
1949 Ald R E Churchward
1950-56 Ald R Granger
1956-66 Ald C J Campbell
1966-81 Ald G W Blair
1981-82 Ald H J Shearman
1982-83 Ald R Cowley
1983-84 Ald J F Crowther
1984-87 Ald R W Scullin
1987-92 Ald H R Fredericks
1992 Ald J F Crowther
1993-95 Cr J F Crowther
1995-97 Cr J F Champion
1997-99 Cr R M Irwin
1999-2003 Cr L R Gates
2003-2008 Cr M King
2008-2016 Cr J R Dowell OAM
2016-2021 Cr I S Smith
2021 Cr V J Ekins
2021 - Present Cr S T Krieg